马来西亚证券交易所

English | Bahasa Malaysia | 简体中文

销固菜单

点击这里取消销定菜单。
您在此页: 市场 » 主页 » 可持续性发展 » 引言 » 何谓可持续性发展?

引言

一直以来,马来西亚证券交易所提倡可持续性发展为当今打造成功企业的关键点。除了财务方面,要求达成企业管理以及全面综合考虑经济、环境、社会和管理的完善经营模式可维持企业的连续性运作,并为股东们和社会创造长期的价值。

何谓可持续性发展?

何谓可持续性发展?

可持续性发展并没有一个普遍被接受的定义。在过去数十年出现过各种有关可持续性发展(如“企业责任”、“企业公民”、“可持续性发展”、“ESG”、“企业社会责任”、“三重底线”)的术语和定义,并根据不同的情况而使用,但本质上它们都有一个共同的目的。世界广泛使用的定义是1987年联合国世界环境与发展委员会的布伦特兰报告中的定义。它对可持续性发展的描述如下:

“在对后代没有造成伤害的同时又可满足他们自身当代的需求”1

利益相关者的压力和不断变化的市场条件 (参阅“为什么可持续性发展很重要?”) 致使越来越多的企业发掘新商业方式以保持竞争力及长期的繁荣。有些人可能会质疑,可持续发展是否意味着组织需要做出最大的牺牲。案例研究和调查表明,可持续性发展对企业的长期表现是有利的。更多详情请参阅“可持续性发展的好处”。

企业社会责任(CSR)与可持续性发展之间的区别是什么?

CSR是“企业承诺持续维持其道德行为,并在最大程度地提高劳动人口及其家属的生活质量,以及社区和社会”2。常见的假设是,可持续性发展与CSR最主要区别在于企业的社会方面,然而,真正的区别其实很微妙。CSR包括由组织对社会做出的贡献。它往往专注于慈善活动,而不一定是与企业业务运营相关的可持续性发展问题。然而,可持续性发展较具前瞻性,以及注重管理组织对经济、环境和社会的影响,同时确保了自身的未来。这意味着解决对社会和企业皆有影响的问题,如资源稀缺、人口老龄化和经济上的不平等。

何谓EES和ESG?它们与可持续性发展有何关联?

此两个术语EES(经济、环境和社会)和ESG(环境、社会和管理)并没有明确的区分,并且常交替使用。EES通常被认为是可持续性发展的三大支柱。ESG是一个广泛被应用的术语,特别是在投资界。它描述了投资者在企业行为背景时纳入考量的环境、社会和管理事项。3


1 世界环境与发展委员会, “我们的未来”, 1987年

2 世界可持续发展工商理事会,“企业社会责任”

3 联合国环境规划署金融协会及世界可持续发展工商理事会,“将环境、社会和治理因素转译为可持续性发展企业的价值:为企业和投资者提供的关键见解”,2010年

Bursa Malaysia

Pin Menu

Click here to unpin menu.
You're here: Market » Home » Sustainability » Introduction » What is Sustainability?

Introduction

Bursa Malaysia has always advocated sustainability as key to business success today. A holistic approach to business management, incorporating economic, environmental, social and governance considerations alongside financial ones, will serve as a sound business model that supports business continuity and long term value creation for stakeholders and society at large.

What is Sustainability?

What is Sustainability?

There is no universally accepted definition of sustainability. Various terms and definitions pertaining to sustainability (such as “corporate responsibility”, “corporate citizenship”, “sustainable development”, “ESG”, “CSR”, “triple bottom line”) have emerged in the past few decades and have been used differently in various contexts, but essentially they all serve a common purpose. The most widely used definition globally is that developed by the Brundtland Report of the United Nation’s World Commission on Environment and Development, in 1987. It describes sustainable development as:

‘Development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs’1

Stakeholder pressure and changing market conditions (refer to “Why Is Sustainability Important”) are pushing more organisations to find new ways of doing their business in order to remain competitive and prosper in the long term. Some may wonder whether being sustainable means an organisation needs to sacrifice its bottom line. Case studies and research have shown that being sustainable is beneficial to the long term performance of business. Please refer to “Benefits of Embedding Sustainability” for more information.

What is the difference between Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Sustainability?               

CSR is "the continuing commitment by business to behave ethically and contribute to economic development while improving the quality of life of the work force and their families as well as a local community and society at large"2. The common assumption is that the main difference between sustainability and CSR is that CSR focuses on the social aspect of business, however the differences are far more nuanced. CSR comprises contributions made by an organisation to society. It tends to focus on philanthropic activities, and not necessarily address sustainability-related concerns connected to an organisation’s business operations. Sustainability however, is more forward-looking and focuses on managing the organisation’s impacts on the economy, environment and society whilst securing its own future. This means tackling issues such as resource scarcity, ageing populations and economic inequality, all of which not only impact society but also business.

What is EES and ESG and how do they relate to Sustainability?

The terms EES (economic, environmental and social) and ESG (environmental, social and governance) are not clearly differentiated and often used interchangeably. EES is commonly considered the 3 broad pillars of sustainability. ESG is a term used extensively, particularly by the investment community, and describes the environmental, social and governance matters that investor consider in the context of corporate behaviour.3


1 World Commission on Environment and Development, "Our Common Future", 1987

2 World Business Council for Sustainable Development, "Corporate Social Responsibility"

3 United Nations Environment Program Finance Initiatives and World Business Council for Sustainable Development, "Translating environmental, social and governance factors into sustainable business value: Key insights for companies and investors", 2010