马来西亚证券交易所

English | Bahasa Malaysia | 简体中文

销固菜单

点击这里取消销定菜单。
您在此页: 市场 » 主页 » 衍生产品 » 结算与实物交割 » 金融保障与风险管理

结算与实物交割

马来西亚衍生产品交易所(BMD),成立于1993,乃马来西亚交易所控股公司旗下的子公司。BMD提供金融、利率、债卷、农产品(棕榈油和棕榈仁等)和金属商品(黄金和锡)等期货,期权的交易和结算服务。BMD所有的期货和期权交易都是通过CME GLOBEX电子平台交易,直接衔接世界各地的客户。

金融保障与风险管理

金融保障与风险管理

BBMDC,身为大马衍生交易所全资拥有的子公司,扮演每项合约的交易对手角色并作出承若履行结算参与者(Clearing Participants - CP)合约的义务。此功能提供市场对合约财务表现的信心。它也确保整体结算和交割系统的安全和健全性。

成为交易对手的过程

当市场合约在BMD实行时,其合约将会以电子方式呈现给BMDC注册。成功注册后两项与市场合约相同条款的新公开合约立即成立。BMDC将成为两方CP的公开合约买家和卖家。这个过程称之责任变更,这是通过 BMDC规则610而规定的。

BMDC的承若

身为所有公开合约的交易对手,BMDC对CP承若其将会实行合约的财务义务。这承若是受到BMDC风险管理政策以及相关资金的担保。BMDC财务担保的承若是提供给公开合约委托人的CP。即使是受到BMDC担保,每个CP必须承担责任合约表现的义务。BMDC没有责任承担任何债务,也不能私底下对客户公开合约表现采取行动。这在BMDC规则103里有表明。

结算所会员参与标准和财务要求

BMDC通过责任变更扮演交易对手担保的同时,也保持最低参与的标准以确保只有财务稳定的机构才可以参与。这个最低标准让BMDC评估交易对手,即为财务保障系统的第一防线。当下有两种参与方法,普通结算会员(General Clearing Participant - GCP)和直接结算会员(Direct Clearing Participant - DCP)。

每个GCP必须随时保持超过RM50万调整后的净资本(Adjusted Net Capital - ANC);或CP支付结算所总额的10%。ANC算法是:准许资产减额外扣除再减总负债。

每个DCP必须随时保持超过RM500万净资产值(Net Tangible Asset - NTA),或企业保证的相同数额。DCP也必须存放和保持RM50万存款;或DCP支付结算所总额的10%。NTA算法是:有形资产减总负债。

请参考 BMDC规则200以了解更多结算所会员参与标准资料。

风险管理

BMDC通过其风险管理政策保持财务诚信。以下BMDC政策用于管理信货和市场风险:

  1. 保证金与标记市场

    BMDC相信风险管理必须从足够的保障和促进交易提高市场流通率当中作出平衡。因此,BMDC的风险管理方法,特别是履约保证,经常被检讨以便确保它的要求不会不足或过足。风险管理功能是由BMDC每天实行,并融入结算和交割过程内。这包括征收履约保证,标记市场和日内(一日之内)額外按金。

  2. 履约保证(BMDC规则613)

    履约保证的要求是信用保证金以担保公开合约的表现。它也称之保证金。向CP征收所有公开持仓的保证金是BMDC的基本运作,保护不受CP损失的影响。保证金是按一天里面最高风险而定。它考虑到短期和长期历史挥发性,当下和预期市场情况,以及其他风险因素。

    BMDC采取总保证金的概念,每个CP顾客户口各有保证。CP总保证金是CP旗下所有顾客户口的保证金。CP专有的持仓是保证于净持仓。

    以下是核准抵押的初期保证金:

    • 核准外币
    • 澳币,英镑,欧元,港币,日元,马币,人民币新币和美元
    • 列在大马交易所核准的股票
    • 核准大马银行发行的马币和美元信用证

    保证率和核准抵押如有更新将会通过结算通告通知。

    SPAN保证金指南
    最新保证金/履约保证率和抵押修改通告
  3. 每天结算价格(BMDC规则611)

    BMDC根据程序决定每个公开合约的每天结算价格。这项决定考虑到有关的交易资讯包括投标,报盘和公布于交易所的报价以及其他结算所认为相关的资料。以下方法表明决定价格的一般原则。

    结算价格指南

  4. 每天标记市场与结算(BDMC规则612)

    所有公开合约是按BDMC在最后交易天所决定的每天结算价格作出评估,得利或损失将登在每个CP的户口。所有损失必须在下一个交易日开市之前以现金支付给结算所。得利则可以经过CP的要求在下一个交易日提取。

  5. 监控日常交易

    结算所监督CP交易活动和日内(一日之内)价格变动评估其风险。在市场波动不定的情况下,BMDC可以启动标记市场过程处理交易日当时的成交点为止。启动两个或更多标记市场过程可以把BMDC一天的风险分散成一天的一部分。损失额必需在日内(一日之内)追加保证金的一个小时内支付给BMDC,包括当时输入的新持仓也须要遵循这个义务。

  6. 隔离客户资金

    所有参与机构必须按资本市场和服务法第118节把客户户口的持仓和资金隔离。这项措施是为了保护客户不受参与机构破产或资金周转不灵的影响。

  7. 保证金与结算资金

    BMDC对保证金和在结算资金的存款有追索权。

    1. 保证金(BMDC规则206A)。每个CP必须以现金或信用证方式在BMDC保持RM100万。BMDC将使用这项保证金弥补CP违约的数额。

    2. 保证金(BMDC规则第4章)。BMDC维持结算资金目的是复苏CP无法履行BMDC规则的义务所违约的数额或金融机构或结算所落入破产,暂时停业或被终止付款或任何相同的情况。

    CP支付给结算所的供款必需是固定现金RM100万以及结算所所决定的变动供款。BMDC每天密切监督结算资金并按历史最糟数据进行压力测试。它可以要求额外供款给结算所。

    在CP没有违约的情况下,BMDC可以运用结算资金弥补由金融机构或其他结算所所造成的损失。这为了确保整体系统的稳定性不会因BMDC所不能控制的情况而受到影响。如果BMDC因CP而面对损失,那只是牵涉到CP的保证金,额外资金以及抵押的资产。保证金和结算资金将优先索赔。在可能性不大资金不足的情况下,BMDC可以按比例运用其它CP的结算资金。如果BMDC损失超过结算资金的数额,CP有义务存入现有的存款之100%额外供款。

  8. 监督CP

    如今市场波动不定,BMDC积极监督CP的持仓和财务状况。如果发现CP进行高密度的公开合约并导致更高的市场风险,BMDC可以征收额外保证金作为后盾。在必要时BMDC也会密切留意CP财务流通率以确保资金充足应付市场的变数。

纪律和违约处置

BMDC所引用的风险管理政策是经过特别设计把CP违约的可能性降到最低。但如有纪律和违约的情况下,BMDC有权按 BMDC规则第9和第10章采取行动。

Bursa Malaysia

Pin Menu

Click here to unpin menu.
You're here: Market » Home » Derivatives » Clearing & Settlement » Financial Safeguards and Risk Management

Clearing & Settlement

Bursa Malaysia Derivatives Berhad (BMD) is a subsidiary of Bursa Malaysia Berhad established in 1993. BMD provides, operates and maintains equity, interest rates, bond, agricultural commodity (crude palm oil and palm kernel), metal commodities (gold and tin) futures and options market trading and settlement services. BMD products are available on the CME Globex electronic trading platform for greater distribution of the Malaysian derivatives offerings to the global market.

Financial Safeguards and Risk Management

Financial Safeguards and Risk Management

BMDC, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Bursa Malaysia Derivatives Berhad (BMD), eliminates credit risk between clearing participants by becoming a counterparty to each contract which is bought or sold by a clearing participant ("CP") and giving an undertaking to perform its obligations under such a contract. The performance of this function provides confidence to the market in the financial performance of the contracts. It also serves to ensure the safety and soundness of the clearing and settlement system as a whole.

Process of becoming a counterparty

Upon the creation of market contracts executed on the BMD, the contracts will be presented electronically to BMDC for registration. Immediately upon the registration of each market contract, two new contracts i.e. open contracts are created in place of and on identical terms with each market contract. BMDC becomes the buyer to the CP acting as the seller under one open contract and the seller to the CP acting as the buyer under the other open contract. This process, known as novation, is provided for in the BMDC Rule 610.

Undertaking by BMDC

BMDC, as a counterparty to all open contracts, undertakes to its CPs who are party to those contracts that it will perform its financial obligations under the contract. This undertaking is backed by BMDC's risk management policies as well as funds held for such purpose. BMDC's financial undertaking is provided to CPs acting as a principal in respect of the relevant open contract. As a corollary to the undertaking provided by BMDC, each CP is liable as a principal for the performance of its obligations under all contracts to which it is a party. BMDC does not assume or incur any liability to any client of a CP or other third party; neither can BMDC take any action against a client for the performance of an open contract in its own capacity under the BMDC Rules 103.

Clearing Participantship Standard and Financial Requirement

BMDC, while assuming the counterparty risk through the process of novation, maintains a minimum standard of entry to ensure that only the financially sound institutions are granted participantship. This minimum standard allows BMDC to assess its counterparty and plays the role as the first line of defence in the financial safeguard system. There are two categories of participantship, namely General Clearing Participant (GCP) and Direct Clearing Participant (DCP).

Each GCP must at all time maintain its Adjusted Net Capital (ANC) at the higher of RM500,000; or 10% of the total amount paid by the CP to the Clearing House. ANC is computed as: Permitted Assets less Additional Deductions less Total Liabilities

Each DCP must at all times maintain Net Tangible Asset (NTA) of not less than RM5 million, or a corporate guarantee of not less than RM5 million. DCP is also required to lodge a DCP Deposit and maintains at all time the higher of RM500,000; or 10% of the total amount paid by the DCP to the Clearing House. NTA is computed as: Tangible Assets less Total Liabilities

Further detail of the Clearing Participantship Standard is provided for in the BMDC Rules 200.

Risk Management

BMDC upholds financial integrity through its risk management policies. In addressing and managing credit and market risk, BMDC has in place the following policies:

  1. Margining and Mark-To-Market

    BMDC is of the view that in managing risk a proper balance should be struck between the need for adequate safeguards and the need to encourage trading and increase liquidity in the market. As such, BMDC's risk management methodology, especially in relation to performance bond, is constantly reviewed to ensure that its requirements are neither inadequate nor excessive. The risk management function is carried out on a daily basis by BMDC and is inherent in its clearing and settlement process. This involves the collection of performance bond, mark-to-market and intra-day margining.

  2. Performance Bond (BMDC Rule 613)

    Performance bond requirements are good faith deposits to guarantee the performance of the open contracts and are often referred to as "margin". The collection of margin on all open positions held by a CP is fundamental to the operations of BMDC to protect itself against losses arising from a CP's default. The level of margin is determined based on the derived maximum potential risk exposure over a one-day period. It takes in to consideration of the historical price volatility covering short and long term period, current and anticipated market conditions, and other risk factors.

    BMDC adopts a gross margining concept where each client account of a CP is margined separately. The total margin for a CP is the sum of the margins for all the individual client's accounts of the CP. The proprietary position of a CP is margined on a net position.

    The following is the list of Approved Collaterals for Initial Margin:

    • Approved Currencies
    • Australian Dollar, British Pound, Euro, Hong Kong Dollar, Japanese Yen, Malaysian Ringgit, Renminbi, Singapore Dollar and US Dollar
    • Approved shares listed on Bursa Malaysia Securities
    • Letters of Credit in MYR and USD issued by approved Malaysian banks.

    Any update on the Margin Rates and Approved Collateral will be communicated from time to time via the Clearing Circulars.

  3. Daily Settlement Price (BMDC Rule 611)

    BMDC will determine the Daily Settlement Price for each open contract in accordance with its procedures. The determination of Daily Settlement Price will take into considerations the relevant trade information including the bids, offers and traded prices quoted on the Exchange and any other information deemed relevant by the Clearing House. The methodology outlined below serves as a general principle in determining settlement price.

    Settlement Price Guidelines

  4. Daily Mark-To-Market and Settlement (BMDC Rule 612)

    All open contracts are valued daily against the Daily Settlement Price determined by BMDC at the end of each trading day and the resulting gains or losses are posted to each CP's account. The losses must be paid in cash to the Clearing House before the start of trading on the next business day. The gains, if available, can be withdrawn upon request by the CP on the next business day.

  5. Intra-day Monitoring

    The Clearing House monitors CP's trading activities and intra-day price movement closely to assess its potential exposure. In periods of extreme market volatility, BMDC can activate the mark-to-market process during the trading day for trades executed up to that point in time. Having two or more mark-to-market and settlement sessions in one trading day effectively changes the duration of BMDC's exposure from one day to segments of a day. The losses have to be paid to BMDC within one hour of the intra-day margin call being made. New positions entered into up to that point in the trading day will also have a margin obligation which has to be settled within the hour.

  6. Segregation of Client Funds

    All participants are required to separate their client positions and funds from their own account, in accordance with Section 118 of the Capital Market and Service Act . This requirement is designed to protect clients in the event of the insolvency or financial instability of the clearing participant through which they conduct business.

  7. Security Deposit and Clearing Fund

    BMDC has recourse to contingency funds maintained by it in the form of Security Deposit and contributions made to the Clearing Fund.

    1. Security Deposit (BMDC Rule 206A) Each CP must maintain a Security Deposit of RM1 million lodged with BMDC in the form of cash or Letters of Credit. The Security Deposit lodged by a CP will be used by BMDC in the event of default to cover any amount owing by that CP to BMDC.

    2. Clearing Fund (BMDC Rules - Chapter 4) BMDC maintains a Clearing Fund for the purpose of making good any loss suffered by it as a result of the failure or omission by any CP to perform any of its obligations under the BMDC Rules or if any financial institution or clearing house organisation fails to perform any obligation to BMDC when due because of insolvency, indefinite suspension of operation or suspension of payments or any similar event.

    A CP's contribution to the Clearing Fund must be in the form of cash consisting of a fixed contribution of RM1 million and a variable contribution as determined by the Clearing House. BMDC closely monitors the size of Clearing Fund on a daily basis by stress test using a series of historical worst case scenarios and may call for additional contributions to provide further additional resources to the Clearing Fund.

    In the absence of default by a CP, the Clearing Fund may be availed of by BMDC to cover any losses suffered by it due to the default of a financial institution or another clearing house. This is to ensure that systemic stability is not threatened by reason of any situation affecting BMDC which is outside of its control. If the losses suffered by BMDC results from a default of a CP, that CP's margins, excess cash and collateral, Security Deposit and Clearing Fund contribution will be claimed upon first. In the unlikely event that these is insufficient to cover the losses, BMDC can resort to the Clearing Fund contributions of other CPs on a proportionate basis. CPs are liable to contribute an additional 100% of their existing contributions in the Clearing Fund if BMDC suffers losses exceeding the amount available in the Clearing Fund.

  8. Clearing Participant Monitoring

    Recognising the ever challenging environment in today's market, BMDC monitors the positions and financial conditions of CPs in a proactive manner. In the event of high concentration of open positions with any CP which may lead potential increase market exposure, BMDC may call for payment of additional funds as additional security against the non-performance of obligations by such CP. BMDC is also constantly monitoring the financial liquidity status of CP should the need arises where CPs are required to pay additional funds during volatile market conditions.

Disciplinary and Default Actions

Risk management policies adopted by BMDC are designed to minimise the likelihood of a default by a CP. However, in the event of disciplinary and default situations, BMDC is authorised to take actions pursuant to Chapter 9 and 10 of the BMDC Rules.