马来西亚证券交易所

English | Bahasa Malaysia | 简体中文

销定菜单

点击这里取消销定菜单。
您在此页: 公司 » 主页 » 可持续性发展 » 首席执行官献词

首席执行官献词

"We are pleased to present Bursa Malaysia’s Sustainability Report 2016 to all our stakeholders."
~ Datuk Seri Tajuddin bin Atan, CEO

Corporate - Sustainability - CEO Message Thumbnail

诸位敬爱的利益关系人

马来西亚交易所为马来西亚资本市场扮演独一无二的角色,既是监管机构,也是市场运营机构、影响者兼上市公司。我们有能力提倡在资本市场培养可持续发展文化,而且作为交易所,我们不仅能对其他市场发行机构发挥影响者的作用,而且能够决定所有上市发行机构联手对可持续资本市场的发展作出共同贡献的环境和铺平道路。

2016年,我们见证了负责任投资的增长,越来越多投资者采取了联合国负责任投资原则组织(UN Principles of Responsible Investment (PRI))。目前该组织代表全球资产管理规模价值达62兆美元的1500个签署人。这必定导致人们对企业进行可持续发展和治理信息披露的要求提高。上市发行机构通过常年报告和可持续发展报告披露这些信息,迎合投资者不断增加信息披露要求,为未来做好准备,以落实包含监视非财务指标的企业策略,实现价值的创造。

我们认为可持续发展是把马来西亚交易所定位为在2020年之前成为东盟首要交易所的一个策略性领域。鉴于全球证券交易所已加紧努力,通过制定上市规章、指南和环境、社会及治理相关产品与服务等,建立可持续发展,马来西亚交易所也必须创新和保持领先地位,巩固我们作为本区域适合负责任投资和募资的可持续资本市场地位。

可持续发展也是一个风险管理工具,帮助我们全面评估及改进管理和经营业务的方法。在机构内贯彻可持续发展原则,对企业有明显的好处,包括更好的长远财务表现、更容易筹集资金及吸引和留住人才等。

我们在2016将专注于检讨我们的重大性程序和与利益关系人的交流,作为长远可持续发展策略的一部分。过去一年,我们进行了重大性评估和鉴定了重大的可持续发展事项,也就是市场完整性和稳定性、竞争、技术及人才。这四个项目已在本报告中深入讨论。此外,除了以上鉴定的重大因素以外,我们继续对环境和社会倡议提呈报告,作为我们部分的可持续发展实践。

我们要确保马来西亚资本市场的稳定性和完整性。因此,可持续发展对我们是很重要的。长远上,这种可持续发展不仅将确保资本市场稳步运作,也会继续成长和吸引那些越来越在投资决策时考量到可持续发展的投资群体。

我们也相信,为上市发行机构制定的《马来西亚交易所可持续发展框架》将会促使上市公司增加对可持续发展表现数据的信息披露。我们的目的是要上市发行机构不仅披露业绩表现,而且在业务中贯彻可持续发展实践。我们希望上市发行机构了解到,在提升重大问题上的表现将对企业的底线带来正面影响,同时能吸引越来越多负责任的投资者。为了支持上市发行根据把握这个机会,我们在2016年为上市发行机构举办了超过25项提倡性活动,吸引了超过800名参与者。此外,我们与100个上市发行机构进行交流,协助他们进行第一个可持续发展报告周期及如何发展机构内的可持续发展策略。

我们面对的挑战包括本地人才短缺,尤其是因为我们是国内唯一的证券交易所,而且我们的工作极为专业化。吸引和留住人才是我们的关键领域;我们已经把重点放在通过各种全年举办的培训课程,栽培员工。证券交易所也面对信息技术引起的风险,如网络威胁或足以对交易所运作造成严重干扰的技术毛病。另一方面,技术也造就了令人振奋的机会,以利用技术的先进支持,提高技术的辅助功能和能力。我们正密切留意技术发展的进步,以确定这些进步对我们的影响,以及如何善用这些技术来把握市场新的领域及落实技术从中得益。

我们很高兴向各位利益关系人报告:马来西亚交易所连续3年在亚洲新闻台(Channel NewsAsia)可持续发展排名榜上名列前3名的马来西亚公司。此外,虽然FTSE4Good Bursa Malaysia指数在2016年12月的检讨时,把新兴市场列入指数的门槛从2.0提高到2.2,我们继续成为指数的成分之一。这项由FTSE Russell进行的检讨的目的是要拉近新兴市场与发达市场之间列入指数的门槛差距。

展望未来,我们将继续把焦点放在探讨可持续发展策略的机会与风险上,以及对改善和提升信息披露的持久承诺上。这包括探讨各种机会,让马来西亚交易所对联合国可持续发展发展目标(UN SDGs)作出贡献、支持全球发展目标,以及应对危急的经济、社会及环境挑战,如气候变化及性别平等等。

Datuk Seri Tajuddin Atan
首席执行员

Bursa Malaysia

Pin Menu

Click here to unpin menu.
You're here: Corporate » Home » Sustainability » CEO's Message

CEO's Message

"We are pleased to present Bursa Malaysia’s Sustainability Report 2016 to all our stakeholders."
~ Datuk Seri Tajuddin bin Atan, CEO

Corporate - Sustainability - CEO Message Thumbnail

Dear Stakeholders,

Bursa Malaysia plays a unique role for the Malaysian capital market as we are a regulator, a market operator, an influencer and a public listed company (PLC). We are in a position to champion the cultivation of the sustainability culture in the capital market, while as an exchange we are able to not only act as an influencer to other listed issuers but to also set the tone and pave the way for joint contribution from all listed issuers to the development of sustainable capital market.

In 2016 we see a growth in responsible investment with more investors subscribing to the UN Principles of Responsible Investment (PRI), now representing 1500 signatories worth US$62 trillion in Assets Under Management (AUM) globally. This will certainly result in higher demand for sustainability and governance disclosure by business. By disclosing such information through annual reports and SRs, our listed issuers are preparing for the future by catering to these growing investor requirements where value creation will be articulated through business strategy incorporating the monitoring of non-financial metrics.

We see sustainability as a strategic area to position Bursa Malaysia as the leading exchange in ASEAN by 2020. As stock exchanges around the globe have stepped up their sustainability efforts through listing requirements, guidance and ESG-related products and services, it is important for Bursa Malaysia to innovate and stay ahead of the curve in order to secure our leading position as the sustainable capital market for responsible investment and fund raising in the region.

Sustainability is also a risk management tool which helps us holistically evaluate and improve the way we manage and operate our business. There are clear benefits for businesses who embed sustainability principles within their organisation, ranging from better long term financial performance, to increased access to capital and attraction and retention of talent.

Our focus in 2016 has been on revisiting our materiality process and engaging with our stakeholders as part of our long-term sustainability strategy. During the year, we conducted materiality assessment and identified our material sustainability matters, which are Market Integrity and Stability, Competition, Technology and Talent. These four matters are deliberated in-depth in this report. In addition to the identified material factors, we continue to report on our environmental and community initiatives as part of our sustainability practices.

We ensure the stability and integrity of the Malaysian capital market and hence, sustainability is important to us. Over the long term this sustainability will not only ensure steady operation of the capital market, but that it also continues to grow and appeal to the investment community who are increasingly considering sustainability in their investment process.

We also believe that the Bursa Malaysia Sustainability Framework for listed issuers will result in greater disclosure of sustainability performance data. Our aim is for listed issuers to not only disclose their performance but also embed sustainable practices within their businesses. We want listed issuers to realise that improved performance on material issues will result in a positive impact on the bottom line, as well as appeal to the increasing number of responsible investors. To support our listed issuers with this opportunity, we have provided over 25 advocacy programmes for listed issuers in 2016 which were attended by over 800 participants, as well as engaging with 100 of our listed issuers to help them with their first sustainability reporting cycle and how to grow sustainability strategy within their organisation.

Among the challenges we experience are shortages of local talent, especially as we are the only exchange in the country and our work is highly specialised. Attracting and retaining talent is a key area for us and we have focused our attention on developing our employees through various training programmes offered throughout the year. Stock exchanges also face increased risks from information technology such as cyber threats or technology errors that bring severe disruptions to exchange operations. On the other hand, there are also exciting opportunities to develop our services utilising the advances in technology to support increased accessibility and capacity. We are closely monitoring the various advances in technological developments to determine how these will impact us and how we can leverage on these technologies to capture new segments of the market and put to use for our benefit.

We take great pleasure in informing our stakeholders that Bursa Malaysia has remained in the top 3 Malaysian companies listed in the Channel NewsAsia Sustainability Ranking for the third year running. We also continue to remain as a constituent of the FTSE4Good Bursa Malaysia Index even though there was an increase of the inclusion threshold for Emerging Markets from 2.0 to 2.2 in the December 2016 review. This review by FTSE Russell is an initiative to narrow the inclusion threshold difference between the Emerging and Developed Markets.

Moving forward, we will continue to focus on our sustainability strategy looking to our opportunities and risks, as well as our enduring commitment to improvement and further disclosure. This includes exploring opportunities for Bursa Malaysia to contribute to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs), supporting global development objectives and addressing critical economic, social and environmental challenges such as climate change and gender equality.

Datuk Seri Tajuddin bin Atan
Chief Executive Officer